Return to Career Services home page
 

Career Advisors for undergraduate majors

Departmental Career Advisors (DCAs) for undergraduate students:

These are faculty and staff in each undergraduate major / department.
The DCA might be the same as or different from your academic advisor.
Explore the website for majors/degrees of interest; you'll find a wealth of information.
Consult DCAs for career information related to undergraduate majors.
Some colleges have college-level personnel you may consult also.

[Graduate students: consult your academic department for graduate student advising.]

On this page, below:
Career Advisors for undergraduate majors, listed by college:

Agriculture & Life Science  |  Architecture + Urban Studies  |  Business  |  Engineering  | 
Liberal Arts & Human Sciences  |  Natural Resources & Environment  |  Science

 

Changes needed to an advisor listing?

 

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
College contacts College contacts
Dept. of Agricultural & Applied Economics

Agribusiness (B.S.)

Applied Economic Management (B.S.)
Department undergraduate advisors

Ms. Frenda Haynie
Undergraduate Coordinator & Academic Advisor
309 Hutcheson Hall | (540) 231-6846
fwall@vt.edu

Dr. Mike Ellerbrock

Professor | Department Career Advisor
218 Hutcheson Hall | (540) 231-7722
mebrock@vt.edu

Dr. Ruth Lytton

Professor | Financial Planning Advisor
204 Latham Hall | (540) 231-6678
rlytton@vt.edu

Dr. Kurt Stephenson
Professor | Undergraduate Program Director
307 Hutcheson Hall | (540) 231-5381
kurts@vt.edu

Dr. Dan Taylor
Professor | Career Advisor to Class of 2015
202-B Hutcheson Hall | (540) 231-5032
taylord@vt.edu

Agricultural Sciences (B.S.)

Dr. Curtis Friedel
Asst. Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator
268 Litton-Reaves | (540) 231-8177
cfriedel@vt.edu

Agricultural Technology (A.S.)

Dr. Pavli Mykerezi
Director
1420 Litton-Reaves Hall | (540) 231-7950
pmykerez@vt.edu

Animal & Poultry Sciences (B.S.)


Dr. Mike Denbow
Professor

Dr. Ann Dunnington
Professor

Dr. Dan Eversole
Associate Professor

Reach all through Advising Office:
3400 Litton-Reaves Hall | (540) 231-6936
apsc@vt.edu
Biochemistry (B.S.)
(Also offered through College of Science)
Dr. Peter J. Kennelly
Professor and Department Head
105-A Engel Hall | (540) 231-4317
pjkennel@vt.edu
Dept. of Crop & Soil Environmental Sciences

Crop & Soil Sciences (B.S.)

Environmental Science (B.S.)
Dr. Ben Tracy [Crop & Soil Sciences]
335 Smyth Hall | (540) 231-8259
bftracy@vt.edu

Dr. Matt Eick [Environmental Science]
Professor | Env. Sci. Career Advisor
236 Smyth Hall | (540) 231-8943
eick@vt.edu

Jen Stewart, Student Support Coordinator
jen.stewart@vt.edu

Dairy Science (B.S.)

 

Dr. Robert (Bob) James
Professor
2420 Litton-Reaves Hall | (540) 231-4770
jamesre@vt.edu

Dr. Katherine Knowlton
Professor
3290 Litton-Reaves Hall | (540) 231-5287
kknowlto@vt.edu

Food Science & Technology (B.S.)

Dr. Bill Eigel
Associate Professor | Career Advisor
115 Food Sci & Technology Bldg | (540) 231-6877
weigel@vt.edu

Ms. Linda Granata
Undergraduate Program Director
126A Food Sci & Technology Bldg | (540) 231-9570
lgranata@vt.edu
Horticulture (B.S.) Dr. Alex Niemiera
Professor
401A Saunders Hall | (540) 231-6723
niemiera@vt.edu
Human Nutrition, Foods & Exercise (B.S.) Ms. Renee Selberg-Eaton
Undergraduate Program Director
325 Wallace Hall | (540) 231-5987
rselberg@vt.edu
College of Architecture and Urban Studies
College contacts

College faculty/staff directory

Undergraduate student advising

Bachelor's degree programs in the college

Real Estate (B.S)
(interdisciplinary six-college collaboration; housed in College of Architecture & Urban Studies)
Ms. Chelsea Lyles
Manager of Academic Affairs and Business Operations, Virginia Tech Program in Real Estate
430 Bishop-Favrao Hall | (540) 231-6518
clyles@vt.edu
School of Architecture + Design:
Architecture (B.Arch.) Prof. Kathryn Albright
Associate Professor | Chair, Foundation Program
201G Cowgill Hall | (540) 231-2514
kclarke@vt.edu

Prof. Michael Ermann
Associate Professor
404 D Cowgill Hall | (540) 231-1225
mermann@vt.edu

Prof. Steve Thompson
Associate Professor
201 A Cowgill Hall | (540) 231-5383
stthomp2@vt.edu
Industrial Design (B.S.) Prof. Robert Dunay
Professor
Program Director
111 Burchard Hall | (540) 231-5383
dunayr@vt.edu
Interior Design (B.S.) Prof. Greg Tew
Associate Professor | Director of Professional and Industry Relations
201 Cowgill Hall | (540) 231-5383
gtew@vt.edu
Landscape Architecture (B.L.A.) Prof. Brian F. Katen
Program Chair
121-E Burruss Hall | (540) 231-7505
bkaten@vt.edu
School of Public & International Affairs:
Dept. of Urban Affairs & Planning

Public & Urban Affairs (B.A.)

Environmental Policy & Planning (B.S.)
Dr. Diane Zahm
Associate Professor
206 Architecture Annex | (540) 231-7503
dzahm@vt.edu
School of Visual Arts:  
Art History (B.A.)
Studio Arts (B.F.A.)
Visual Communication Design (B.F.A.)
Ms. Betsy Bannan
Director of Advising | Advanced Instructor
115 Henderson Hall | (540) 231-1714
dbannan@vt.edu
Myers-Lawson School of Construction:
Building Construction (B.S.)

(Construction Engr Mgt B.S. offered through College of Engineering)
Ms. Renee Ryan
Academic Coordinator
430 Bishop-Favrao Hall | 540-231-7428
renee.ryan@vt.edu
Pamplin College of Business
College contacts Mr. Stuart Mease
Undergraduate Director of Career Advancement and Employer Relations, and Liaison to the university's Career Services office
1026 Pamplin Hall | (540) 231-6602
smease@vt.edu

Accounting & Information Systems (B.S.) Dr. Sam Hicks
Associate Professor
3011 Pamplin Hall | (540) 231-6577
shicks@vt.edu
Business Information Technology (B.S.) Dr. Bernard Taylor
Professor | Department Head
1007 Pamplin Hall | (540) 231-7956
betaylo3@vt.edu
Economics ECON (B.S.) through College of Business

(ECAS B.A. also offered through College of Science)
Ms. Erika Perdue
Undergraduate Advisor
3030 Pamplin Hall | (540) 231-7726
eperdue@vt.edu

Dr. Steve Trost
Instructor
3034 Pamplin Hall | (540) 231-4537
strost@vt.edu
Finance (B.S.) Mr. Derek Klock
Assistant Professor of Practice
3066 Pamplin | (540) 231-4419
ddklock@vt.edu
Hospitality & Tourism Mgt (B.S.) Mr. Howard Feiertag
Instructor
Inn at Virginia Tech | (540) 231-9459
howardf@vt.edu
Management (B.S.) Ms. Lorraine Borny
Instructor and Career Advisor
2017 Pamplin Hall | (540) 231-9624
lcborny@vt.edu
Marketing (B.S.) Ms. Donna Wertalik
Instructor
3052 Pamplin Hall | (540) 231-3096
wertalikd@vt.edu
College of Engineering
College contacts Ms. Christi L. Boone
Director, Academic Support Programs
212 Hancock Hall | (540) 231-9763
chboone2@vt.edu
Engineering Education | first year before major declared Ms. Marlena McGlothlin Lester
Undergraduate Academic & Career Advisor
623 McBryde Hall | (540) 231-2962
marlenal@vt.edu

Ms. Natasha Smith
Undergraduate Academic & Career Advisor
625 McBryde Hall | (540) 231-2225
noliver@vt.edu
Dept. of Aerospace & Ocean Engineering

Aerospace Engineering (B.S.)

Ocean Engineering (B.S.)
Dr. Robert (Bob) Canfield [Aerospace]
Professor | Assistant Department Head for Academic Affairs
215 Randolph Hall | (540) 231-5981
bob.canfield@vt.edu

Dr. Wayne Neu [Ocean]
Associate Professor
226 Randolph Hall | (540) 231-7061
neu@vt.edu

Ms. Madhu Kapania
Undergraduate Program Coordinator, Aerospace & Ocean Engineering
219 C Randolph Hall | (540) 231-6699
mkapania@vt.edu
Biological Systems Engineering (B.S.)
Dr. Mary Leigh Wolfe
Professor | Department Head
200 Seitz Hall | (540) 231-6092
mlwolfe@vt.edu

Dr. Tess Thompson

Assistant Department Head for Undergraduate Studies
213 Seitz Hall | (540) 231-2454
tthompson@vt.edu

Ms. Priscilla Beth Baker
Undergraduate Student Services Coordinator
307A Seitz Hall | (540) 231-2145
beth5253@vt.edu
Chemical Engineering (B.S.) Dr. David Cox
Professor | Department Head
249 Signature Engineering Bldg | (540) 231-6829
dfcox@vt.edu

Dr. Aaron Goldstein
Associate Professor | Assistant Department Head for Undergraduate Studies
339 ICTAS Bldg
141 Randolph Hall | (540) 231-3674
goldst@vt.edu
Civil & Environmental Engineering (B.S.) Ms. Kara Lattimer
Academic/Career Advisor
200 Patton Hall | (540) 231-7148
karalatt@vt.edu
Computer Science (B.S.) Ms. Terry Arthur
Academic Advisor
114 McBryde Hall | (540) 231-3984
arthurt@vt.edu

Mr. Greg Farris
Academic and Career Advisor
114 McBryde Hall | (540) 231-4032
gpfarris@vt.edu

Ms. Libby Bradford
Director of External Relations & Undergraduate Studies
114 McBryde Hall | (540) 231-3209
bradfolg@vt.edu
Myers-Lawson School of Construction:
Construction Engineering & Mgt (B.S.)

(Building Construction B.S. offered through College of Architecture & Urban Studies)
Dr. Christine Fiori
Director of Professional & Academic Outreach
330B Bishop-Favrao Hall | (540) 239-3389
cfiori@vt.edu

Ms. Amanda Lucas
Administrative & Program Support
430 Bishop-Favrao Hall | (540) 231-6777
amanda.lucas@vt.edu
Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering (B.S.)

Computer Engineering (B.S.)
Dr. Leslie Pendleton
Director of Student Services
340 Whittemore Hall | (540) 231-8219
pendleton@vt.edu

Ms. Mary Brewer
Academic and Career Advisor
340 Whittemore Hall | (540) 231-4539
taylorm@vt.edu
Engineering Science & Mechanics (B.S.) Ms. Amanda Stanley
Undergraduate Academic and Career Advisor
225B Norris Hall | (540) 231-4965
agstanle@vt.edu
Industrial & Systems Engineering (B.S.) Ms. Joyce A. Vest
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
(540) 231-6388
vestjs@vt.edu

Ms. Paula Van Curen
Academic & Program Advisor
241 Durham Hall | (540) 231-2364
pcuren@vt.edu
Materials Science & Engineering (B.S.) Ms. Michelle Czamanske
Undergraduate Services Coordinator
302 Collegiate Square | (540) 231-1768
mczamans@vt.edu

Dr. Alex Aning [Composites]

Associate Professor
202 Holden Hall | (540) 231-6849
aaning@vt.edu

Dr. David Clark [General MSE]
Professor | Department Head
213 Holden Hall | (540) 231-6440
dclark@vt.edu

Dr. Robert Hendricks [Electronic Materials]
Professor
302 Collegiate Square | (540) 231-6917
hendrxrw@vt.edu

Dr. William Reynolds [Metallurgical Engr.]
Professor
302 Collegiate Square | (540) 231-6825
reynolds@vt.edu

Dr. Dwight Viehland [Ceramics]
Professor
201 Holden Hall | (540) 231-2276
dviehlan@vt.edu

Dr. Abby Whittington [Biomaterials, Polymer Engr.]
Assistant Professor
210 Holden Hall | (540) 231-0665
awmorgan@vt.edu
Mechanical Engineering (B.S.) Prof. Linda Vick
Associate Professor of Practice
Departmental Career Advisor
113 Randolph Hall | (540) 231-7747
lvick@vt.edu

Ms. Sarah Deisher
Enrollment Services Specialist
113-A Randolph Hall | (540) 231-8592
murfvt@vt.edu
Mining & Minerals Engineering (B.S.) Dr. Greg Adel
Professor | Department Head
106 Holden Hall | (540) 231-6650
adel@vt.edu
College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences
College contacts Dr. Monica R. Kimbrell
Director of Recruitment and Career Development
232 Wallace Hall | (540) 231-7602
mkimbrel@vt.edu
www.undergraduate.clahs.vt.edu
LAHS majors and departments LAHS Deptartment Career Advising &
Department Internship Advising
College of Natural Resources and Environment
College contacts Ms. Stephanie Lang
Coordinator of Academic Advising - Transfer Students
138 Cheatham Hall | (540) 231-3484
slang@vt.edu

Dr. Dean Stauffer
Associate Dean for Academic Programs
138 Cheatham Hall | (540) 231-7349
dstauffe@vt.edu
Dept. of Fish & Wildlife Conservation

Fish Conservation (B.S.)

Wildlife Conservation (B.S.)
Dr. Brian Murphy [Fish Conservation]
Professor
146 Cheatham Hall | (540) 231-6959
murphybr@vt.edu

Dr. Jim Parkhurst [Wildlife Conservation]
Associate Professor
144 Cheatham | (540) 231-9283
jparkhur@vt.edu
Dept. of Forest Resources & Environmental Conservation

Environmental Informatics (B.S.)

Environmental Resources Management (B.S.)

Forestry (B.S.)

Natural Resources Conservation (B.S.)
Dr. Val Thomas  [Environmental Informatics]
Assistant Professor
307-A  Cheatham Hall  (540) 231-0958
thomasv@vt.edu

Dr. Mike Aust  [Environmental Resources Management]
Professor
228-D Cheatham Hall | (540) 231-4523
waust@vt.edu

Dr. Chad Bolding  [Forestry]
Associate Professor
228-A Cheatham Hall    (540) 231-6924
bolding@vt.edu

Dr. Marc Stern  [Natural Resources Conservation]
Associate Professor
304 Cheatham Hall  (540) 231-7418
mjstern@vt.edu
Geography Department:

Geography (B.A.)

Meteorology (B.S.)
Ms. Maureen Deisinger
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
115 Major Williams Hall | (540) 231-6886
mdeising@vt.edu
Dept. of Sustainable Biomaterials:

Sustainable Biomaterials (B.S.)

Packaging Systems & Design (B.S.)
Dr. Audrey Zink-Sharp [Sustainable Biomaterials]
Professor | Associate Department Head
230 Cheatham Hall | (540) 231-8853
agzink@vt.edu

Dr. Bob Bush [Packaging Systems and Design]
Professor
230 Cheatham Hall | (540) 231-8834
rbush@vt.edu
College of Science
College contacts College of Science staff
Biochemistry (B.S.)
(Also offered through College of Agriculture & Life Sciences)
Dr. Peter J. Kennelly
Professor and Department Head
105-A Engel Hall | (540) 231-4317
pjkennel@vt.edu
Biological Sciences (B.S.)
Dr. Jack Evans
Director of Undergraduate Advising
2089 Derring Hall | (540) 231-6408
jaevans1@vt.edu

More career and professional advisors
Chemistry (B.A. or B.S.) Ms. Anna Hawthorne
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
301A Davidson Hall | (540) 231-4239
ahawthor@vt.edu

Dr. Gordon Yee
Director of Undergraduate Programs
2103 Hahn Hall South | (540) 231-3090
gyee@vt.edu
Economics ECAS (B.A.) through College of Science

(ECON B.S. also offered through College of Business)
Ms. Erika Perdue
Undergraduate Advisor
3030 Pamplin Hall | (540) 231-7726
eperdue@vt.edu

Dr. Steve Trost
Instructor
3034 Pamplin Hall | (540) 231-4537
strost@vt.edu
Geosciences (B.S.) Dr. Tom Burbey
Associate Professor
3049 A Derring Hall | (540) 231-6696
tjburbey@vt.edu

Dr. Chester J. Weiss
Associate Professor
4068 Derring Hall | (540) 231-3651
cjweiss@vt.edu
Mathematics (B.S.) Dr. Lizette Zietsman
Associate Professor
426 McBryde Hall | (540) 231-2767
lzietsma@vt.edu
Physics (B.A. or B.S.) Dr. Randy Heflin
Professor
107A Robeson Hall | (540) 231-4504
rheflin@vt.edu

Dr. John Simonetti
Professor
319 Robeson Hall | (540) 231-8740
jhs@vt.edu
Psychology (B.S.) Dr. Kurt Hoffman
Director of Undergraduate Studies
123 Williams Hall | (540) 231-4005
khoffma@vt.edu

Ms. Cindy Koziol
Undergraduate Advising Coordinator
109 Williams Hall | (540) 231-8148
ckoziol@vt.edu
Statistics (B.S.) Ms. Christina Marie Dillon
Education Support Specialist II
405-A Hutcheson Hall | (540) 231-5630
chconne1@vt.edu

Faculty / staff only: Send CHANGES or CORRECTIONS to advisor listings to:

Ms. Amy McPherson, amy.mcpherson @ vt.edu
(540) 231-6241

 

Related

Majors A-Z
[Undergrad Admissions]

Undergrad Majors [University Registrar]

Undergrad Degrees [University Registrar]

Checksheets
[University Registrar]

Academic depts

Undergrad Academic Deans
[University Registrar]

VT people search

Award for Excellence in Career Advising

More advising resources:

Co-op & internship advisors by major are in your academic department and in Career Services; they have roles assisting you as you pursue internship or co-op experience.

 

Pre-education / teaching career advising includes advising and undergraduate and graduate education requirements for teaching.

 

Health professions advising for students and alumni of all majors preparing for medical careers requiring education beyond the bachelor's degree. Advising begins as early as freshman year.

 

Pre-professional advising resources for planning for professional schools including law, health professions, veterinary medicine, and teaching careers.

 

Major-undecided ACADEMIC advising: University Academic Advising Center provides transitional advising assistance to undergraduate students who are major-undecided or need to change majors.

 

Career- and/or major-undecided CAREER advising provided through Career Services advising and career exploration resources.

 

Undergraduate Advising at Virginia Tech are primarly links to undergraduate academic advising resources, assembled by the Provost's office.

 

Faculty / staff only: Send CHANGES or CORRECTIONS to advisor listings to:

Ms. Amy McPherson, amy.mcpherson @ vt.edu
(540) 231-6241